Seven Quick Takes Friday: Grain Free Edition

Standard

https://i0.wp.com/www.conversiondiary.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/7_quick_takes_sm1.jpg

1. Jen asked for creative, almost grain-free lunch ideas for her kids.  My son has been on the grain-free Specific Carbohydrate Diet for 5 years now, and here is my favorite “sandwich replacement” to serve him for lunch:

Peanut Butter Brownies

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease a square baking dish.

Mix 1 cup peanut butter, 1 egg, 1/2 cup honey, and 1/2 tsp baking soda together and spread in the dish.  Bake for 20-30 minutes.

Jen mentioned “no beans.”  Technically peanuts are legumes, so if that’s a problem you could substitute any nut butter.  I often add a 1/2 cup canned pumpkin to bump up the nutritional value, and no one notices, well, actually one does but he doesn’t mind too much. 🙂  This recipe is so easy my 7 year old can make it.  The kids eat it with all-fruit jam spread on top.

2. When you’ve got a little more time on your hands, or if your kids like baking and can follow a recipe, here’s a slightly more involved recipe for muffins (which my son eats for lunch):

Preheat oven to 375.  Have a child fill 2 cupcake tins with liners.

Mix 2 1/2 cups almond flour (buy in bulk at Whole Foods or on Amazon), 1/4 cup yogurt or applesauce or oil, 1/2 cup honey, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/8 tsp salt, and 3 eggs.  Fill cupcake tins and bake for 15-20 minutes.  Add whatever flavor variations you can think of.  Serve with butter, jam, or nut butter.

Both of these recipes can be found in Breaking the Vicious Cycle: Intestinal Health through Diet.

Jen mentioned that her family eats rice.  Rice flour is much cheaper than almond flour, so maybe you could substitute that.  However, in my year and a half experience of preparing a “gluten-free” diet for our son before he went grain-free, rice flour = blech.

3. Another, more expensive, option is grain-free baked goods from the SCD Bakery.  Cost-wise it’s equivalent to buying everyone a Starbucks pastry for each meal, but sometimes it’s worth it.  Jill is a great chef, and I’m glad to recommend her to anyone looking for delicious grain-free treats.

4. I know Jen said she has breakfast covered, but here is a super-easy favorite for breakfast.  And we eat these for lunch sometimes too.

Mix 1 banana and 2 eggs in the blender.  Cook on a skillet as pancakes.

5. Okay, I’m on a roll now.  My son had these awesome grain-free waffles for breakfast.  He makes a huge batch for himself every weekend.  If you’re reading the recipe, he stopped separating the eggs and refrigerating the batter long ago, with no change in the outcome.

6.  I don’t know if these count as processed, Jen, but our favorite snacks are fruit leathers and these plantain chips.  

And how could I forget Lara bars?  I know some people hate them, but we love ’em.

7. To sum up, here’s what you, or better yet, your oldest children, can put in those super-cute bento boxes: 1 peanut butter brownie, an apple, a cheese stick, and a kid-friendly veggie like sugar snap peas or shredded carrots.  Add a juice or milk box or a mini water bottle and you’re set!

2 thoughts on “Seven Quick Takes Friday: Grain Free Edition

  1. I’m so glad you’re blogging again! I didn’t get to save the link earlier, so I’m glad you posted on my blog and I was reminded to visit again! Have it on my Reader now 🙂 Thank you for these great recipe ideas! Have a lovely weekend.

  2. These are great suggestions! We did a paleo cleanse last year when determining allergies for my son, so I have some experience, but I haven’t tried the brownies. Yum!

    I get so stuck in my food ruts. I am going to have to try these out. Thanks!

Comments are closed.