Starting out Sunday vol 2

Standard

This weekend we celebrated our 11th anniversary.

Image

This year was one of the best.

Image

And, for the past couple years we’ve celebrated with our kids in the morning the “birthday of our family.”  This year we went blueberry picking.  Most of the berries were up high this late in the season,

Image

which didn’t stop M, of course.

Image

She got to feed a horse too.

Image

When we were planning our wedding, we unwittingly chose the longest possible readings, prayers, and hymns at every possible point, so our wedding felt as long as a papal Mass!  My uncle even ran out of camcorder tape, and by the time we got to the reception, the musicians, who had been playing for themselves and the caterer for an hour, were almost ready to leave!  Definitely glad to be at this point in our marriage now.  We had a great dinner out that evening, and  L even sent along a card for us to open up at dinner.  Our first anniversary card from one of our kids. 🙂

This week…

In the kitchen…grass-fed brisket from my mom’s farm.

Image

Houston friends, I can get some grass-fed beef for you if you let me know this week!

Image

In the garden…we’re getting a few squash, which we are saving for a “Kids’ Marketplace” this weekend with one of our homeschool groups.  This is the brainchild of my friend Lindsey, whose blog I would link to if I could!  The kids will be selling items they have made or grown.  W is planning to sell seeds, produce, and maybe a few flowers, and the other kids want to make cupcakes and banana bread.  Houston friends, join us Saturday morning at SEAS!

The kids also did some amazing work this week weeding our flower beds.

Before

Image

After

Image

In the nursery…Sweet Baby T is 10 months old and scooting his little bottom all over the place.  I cannot believe L actually started walking at 10 months.  T is definitely much more laid back!

Image

He’s tried just about every food now except shellfish, I think.  He loves it all and actually shook his head “no” when I tried to nurse him once this afternoon.  (He came back later). 🙂

In the schoolroom…just reading and math facts.  Our current read-aloud is “B” is for Betsywhich falls in the category of old-fashioned books that make school sound so fun after I’m finished reading one of my kids, usually M, will say, “Maybe I do want to go to school after all.”  The book was written in 1939, and well, if schools were still like that, maybe they would be going!

I’m reading… Confessions (wish I could get into this more), Perfect Health Diet,(much more scientific a book than I usually read but pretty convincing that vegetable oils are very, very bad) Evangelical Catholicism (great, fascinating history of events and movements leading up to Vatican II) and Pertinent Players: Essays on the Literary Life (picked this one up after another of Epstein’s books was reviewed in First Things–essays are my very favorite genre, but I don’t think I’ll read the entire book).

I’m contemplating…the demise of Exodus International and this young man’s take on the matter.  Contrast the Exodus president’s rather strange apology letter with these words of Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger: “Only what is true can ultimately be pastoral.”

Have a great week!

