10 Years Old

Standard

July 1, 2003–after a full day of labor, we were sure our baby would be born that day, the anniversary of our engagement.  And we were just positive this little one was a girl, Anna Therese, named for our dear friend who’d introduced us and a saint who was becoming a dear friend.  We’d read the books and we were ready to be parents!

It didn’t take long for this little one to start defying all our expectations.  He held on until 2:10am of the next morning, and he was most definitely not Anna Therese!

10 years later, I can say I have learned more from this boy than from perhaps anyone else in my life.  July 2 marks the beginning of mothering for me and the end of life according to my own expectations.  And that has been a great blessing for me.

This July 2, we began the day with presents, of course.

Image

It just wouldn’t be a summer birthday without a new Slip-n-Slide.

Image

Then we spent the afternoon celebrating with friends, the pool, and sprinklers.

Image

His friends know him well–he received water guns, sprinkler balls, Legos, walkie-talkies, and honey. 🙂

Image

Talk about things I’ve learned from William!  We’ve been on a journey to better health through diet since he stopped eating wheat at age 3.  These muffins were his birthday request.  They are very tasty and easy to make.  Blend 1 cup of cashews and 1 Tbs of coconut oil in the food processor until it turns into cashew butter.  Add 2 eggs, 2 ripe bananas, 1/2 tsp baking soda, and 1 tsp apple cider vinegar.  Puree and pour into cupcake tins.  Bake about 20 minutes at 400.  We topped these with strawberries, cooked on the stovetop into a syrup with a little honey to taste.  These muffins are the lightest wheat-free ones I’ve ever tasted.

Image

William Francis, you are the best oldest child I could ever imagine!  I can’t wait to see what the double digits of life have in store for you.

One thought on “10 Years Old

Comments are closed.