What We’re Reading Wednesday

Standard

…on Thursday, but better late than never and I can’t ever turn down a chance to do a books post!

This is a new link-up hosted by Housewifespice, which is a great new-to-me blog.

So, this week I am reading

1. The Fellowship of the Ring (we are listening to it in the car, but I am skimming along and catching up whenever N. takes the kids somewhere and I miss some).  I am actually the only Catholic mom blogger who has not read The Lord of the Rings before and am remedying that this summer.  Not a moment too soon!

2. Lumen Fidei   I just finished it yesterday.  I was a bit distracted trying to guess which parts were written by Pope Benedict and which parts were Pope Francis’s.  The main point, in my understanding, was that our current culture has a great need to rediscover the freedom that faith brings to the world.  Our society associates freedom of thought with freedom from religious truth claims when actually the absence of any kind of absolute truth sets up a free for all, with coercive force becoming the only claim to authority.  I don’t know very much about Pope Francis’s thought, but that sure sounds like Benedict the Great to me.

3. Evangelical Catholicism: Deep Reform in the 21st Century Church  George Weigel‘s prescription for the 21st century church.  Fascinating reading, but he repeats a very cumbersome phrase that goes something like this “the deep reform of the Catholic Church began by Pope Leo XIII that is Evangelical Catholicism” so many times my eyes are beginning to glaze over.  I think an editor could have shortened that to “the current reform” or something like that and it would have made the book much more readable.  This book is full of very strong opinions and I’ve read several mixed reviews, but it is well worth reading.

4. Only the Lover Sings: Art and Contemplation  This is a little book of talks given by philosopher Josef Pieper (philosopher’s talks are much easier to read than philosopher’s writings!) about the place of art and music in culture.  Main point: making art (visual and written) is an antidote to the deadening of the senses that occurs in a technology-saturated culture (and he said this in the 1950s and 60s).  And the quality of music reflects the soul and spiritual beliefs of a culture.  I read this just as I was about to order homeschooling books for next year and, as usual, was going to save money by skimping on art and music.  I thought twice after reading this.

Read aloud…

Brighty of the Grand Canyon  We’ve just started this one and aren’t too consistent with read-alouds in the summer, but it promises to be a good one.

Picture books…

Actual Size  Super cool book full of pictures of life-size animal parts, like a giant squid’s eye that takes up the whole page or an African frog bigger than our cat.

Anno’s Counting Book  Classic wordless multiplication story

and an indestructible, chew-proof, rip-proof, slobber-proof book for the baby.

Kids on their own…

W is all about the Hardy Boys this week, and L, M, and B are reading Miss Rhonda’s Readers on my Kindle.  I think they are nice little readers, but it may just be the electronic novelty that keeps them coming back.

Thank you for hosting, Jessica!  Happy reading all!

2 thoughts on “What We’re Reading Wednesday

  1. I first read Lord of the Rings as an adult. They’re definitely adult books, meaning there is so much lost on kids. I think the historical context of when Tolien penned the works (WWII) really darkens the themes of innocent lands being overtaken by evil powers. Rhapsodic sigh. I love Tolkien and am obsessed with all lit WWII related.

    I’m very impressed with how much non-fiction you read. You are a better woman than I.

  2. I was just thinking how boring I sound–almost all non-fiction! I miss fiction and need some inspiration in that area. I have been thinking of Tolkien’s context and wondering how that must have influenced the story–I hope you’ll recommend some WWII era books!

Comments are closed.