Happy Birthday, Teddy!

Standard

It’s just not possible for me to write a post about Teddy without getting sentimental.  He lights up our home and our life!

Image

Early birthday party with grandparents in Georgia last week

Image

Image

On a dolphin sighting boat last night–he didn’t notice the dolphins (which were amazing), but he loved the seagulls.  When other boats passed and the folks onboard waved, he called out “Night night!”

Image

Brothers and sister adore him.  They each tell me their favorite things he does that are “sooo cute!”

Image

Teddy was born 8 days overdue.  All the markers said that he was doing fine in utero at 41 weeks, and the midwives in my practice, as well as my doula, mostly felt like I should wait for labor to begin naturally.  Only one of them was willing to listen to my gut feeling that he needed to be born as soon as possible.  She arranged for an induction, which went very smoothly.  It turned out Teddy had a true knot in his umbilical cord, which occurs in 1% of all births.  True knots are usually not a problem, but they can cause a stillbirth.  Who knows what would have happened had that one midwife not been willing to listen to my intuition?

And all that worrying about when he would be born, and wondering if he would share a saints’ feast day?  He was born on August 16, birthday of Nathaniel’s dad, who has been in heaven for 7 years.

We are so thankful for this little boy!

Image

One thought on “Happy Birthday, Teddy!

  1. What a super cutie!! Sooooo glad you listened to your mama’s intuition and got that little guy out into the world he was meant to light up. Isn’t it scary to ponder the “what might’ve happened” scenarios? I could drive myself bats sometimes.

Comments are closed.