What We’re Reading Friday

Standard

It was one of those days where the kids had groaned at just about everything I brought out for school.  Released from the school room into the backyard, they had piled onto the trampoline where they were basking in the sun.  They were definitely hoping to stay put for the rest of the afternoon.  I checked my lesson plans.  Poetry day.  I immediately started to come up with excuses for skipping it this time.  It’s not a good day.   They’ve worn me out.  I won’t be able to handle another groan.  I’m turning them off to learning and should just take a break.  But then I thought, why have all these lesson plans if I’m not going to at least try to use them?  We have the time.  We need to do poetry day.

So I gathered up the books and headed out to the trampoline.  We’ll sit in the sun together and read!  Groans and more groans.  Threats if the groans didn’t stop right there.  I read from two books to blank stares.  No one laughed at the funny poems.  The sun beat down on us and I could barely read for the glare.  Can we go just back to playing now, Mom?  No, I think we need to go inside to finish up.  Groans started up again, and more threats to make the groaning stop.

The last poem I was supposed to read was “Do Not Go Gentle into that Good Night,” by Dylan Thomas.  I thought, maybe I should just let the little ones go.  Kindergarteners hardly need to worry about melancholy Welsh poets.  But, this is our vision here–all of us learning together, and poetry is one of the few subjects where we can still do that with the wide variety of ages we have now.  So I read the poem.  The first time nobody said anything.  I asked if they understood what “that good night” meant, and William did.  I read it again.  I was just about to close the book and sigh a big sigh of relief that we were done for the day when Marie (the kindergartener) piped up, “I think we should go gentle into that good night.  Aren’t we supposed to want to be with Jesus in heaven?”

And Ben (the other kindergartener) answered, “No!  I don’t want to die!  We should fight to stay alive!”

And a whole great big deep discussion ensued between my kindergarteners and the big boys about accepting death and loving life all at the same time.

Now I haven’t posted but maybe twice in the last six weeks, and you all know what that means as to how life is going these days!  But this was a great moment, one that made me glad to be home with these kids and our piles of books.

The poem came from A Child’s Introduction to Poetry:

615566

The book comes with a CD of all the poems, which we’ve been listening to over and over in the car the past few days.  Everyone was fairly disturbed by Browning’s “Pied Piper of Hamelin” and delighted by Macbeth’s witches: “Double, double, toil and trouble, fire burn and cauldron bubble…”

Head over to Housewifespice for more book reviews!

 

3 thoughts on “What We’re Reading Friday

  1. Lindsey

    Very nice! I need some poetry inspirations. We’ve had some very successful poetry studies but I’ve usually just picked them at random out of a collection I have. Lately I have not felt inspired to pick anything out, so we have only learned 1 poem this school year. (I guess y’all are reading poems more for the experience and the exposure than for memorization?)

    Right now I’m reading Anna Karenina, Susannah is reading Lord of the Rings after finishing up Oliver Twist, Josh is reading Oliver Twist (audio book) and some book about sailing ships, and my boys are reading a lot of Pokemon. :o/ They are also reading non-fiction selections I choose for them from the library, science, history, and biographies.

    • Yes, we are just reading the poems for fun, with a very brief discussion of the form. William also uses them for copywork. I also read some more kid-friendly poems to just the little ones: Mother Goose and a silly contemporary children’s poems collection. For memory work, we do Bible verses, and William has learned a psalm.

      Sounds like you guys are reading some great books! I want to get back into a classic but find I can’t concentrate very well on them these days.

      • Lindsey

        I think I’m going to be in the mood for something American next, maybe more Willa Cather. I will probably have to do a re-read because I think I’ve read all her novels but I went through them so fast I don’t remember many specifics. I’ve read My Antonia and Death Comes for the Archbishop twice so I will probably do One of Ours, Song of the Lark, or O Pioneers. Susannah was just assigned a short story of hers for Intro to Fiction and I snatched it right up, since I had never heard of it: Neighbor Rosicky. As usual, I loved it. I even cried, but maybe that’s the pregnancy. 🙂

Comments are closed.