What We’re Reading in January

Standard

I tend to need a lot of inspiration to get school rolling again after Christmas break, so a few good homeschooling books are in order this time of year, such as…Teaching in Your Tiara: A Homeschooling book for the rest of us, by Rebecca Frech, which I borrowed for free on Kindle.

BookCover

Practical, funny, full of solid advice and not full of impossible-to-fulfill ideals.  This would be a great book to recommend to moms just starting out, and I found a lot of inspiration from it too.

Last week I read Evelyn Waugh’s A Handful of Dust for my book club.

A Handful of Dust

This novel is a satire of the Downton Abbey-type crowd, the English landed gentry in between the two world wars.  It is bitter, harsh, and painful to read, but brilliant nonetheless.  I hear Brideshead Revisited is a more enjoyable introduction to Waugh, but I haven’t read that one.  I think it has a happy ending at least.

This week I’m trying to keep up with William in Johnny Tremain,

Johnny Tremain

which I’m enjoying quite a bit.  On his own time, William’s reading Harry Potter #5.  Once you make it through #4, you are hooked until the end.

We’re listening to The Adventures of Tom Sawyer in the car.  I know I read Huck Finn in high school, but I don’t think I’ve ever read all of Tom Sawyer.  It’s a lot of fun.

Louis and Ben are poring over the Lego City easy readers they got for Christmas.  Teddy likes them too.  He calls all Lego minifigures “Squeaky,” and it’s pretty funny to listen to him paging through those books calling out “brum brum” (the cars) and “Squeaky!” over and over again.

Lego City Adventures: Calling All Cars!

More books at Housewifespice!

3 thoughts on “What We’re Reading in January

    • Hi Jessica! If you’re an Amazon Prime member, you can borrow selected books from Amazon for free on your Kindle. I can borrow one a month.

      But, you can also borrow e-books from the library and from friends with Kindles. The library book should have a link around wherever you’d place a hold on it if it were a paper book. I am not sure how to share friends’ books, but it’s probably somewhere on Amazon. 🙂

Comments are closed.