What We’re Reading Wednesday: Revisiting Brideshead

Standard

What I’ve been reading…

I finished Brideshead Revisited, and I completely take back what I said a few weeks ago about it being boring.  It was magnificent, and the ending was perfect.

Brideshead Revisited

I also re-read Wuthering Heights.  And I thought the folks at Brideshead needed therapy!  The Earnshaws make the Flyte family look like a model of domestic bliss!  It’s quite a different experience reading this novel as a teenager and reading it now that I am twice that age. I kept asking myself, did I really think this was a romantic relationship?

Wuthering Heights (Oxford World's Classics)

This time around I thought the novel was brilliant, but in a completely different way.  It’s much more about revenge and forgiveness than romance.  We watched the 1998 Masterpiece Theater film, which is supposed to be the closest to the book.  The complete film is on YouTube.  It followed the plotline well, but almost all the actors looked at least 10 years too old.

It really changes the story to have adults in their late 20s acting out such a self-absorbed obsession.  Their behavior seems much more believable when you realize Catherine and Heathcliff are only 15-18 years old at the pivotal point in the story.

But when is a film version ever equal to the book?  To Kill a Mockingbird, maybe.  And I hear the marathon Brideshead mini-series is great.  Apparently the screenwriters went on strike as they were beginning filming, so they went ahead and just used the book itself as the script.  Maybe I’ll get to that one the next time our family gets sick for two weeks!

Linking up with Jessica’s virtual book club

bdcdc-wwrwbutton

One thought on “What We’re Reading Wednesday: Revisiting Brideshead

  1. Mrs. C

    I’ve had that experience too, when a book, read at different stages of life, can seem like a whole new story in a way. Of course, it’s always nice when the book is much better because it’s understood from a different perspective than when you were younger but it’s a let down when you’ve grown past the maturity level of the story. 🙂

Comments are closed.