Sweet Summer

Standard

If my blog is quiet, it’s usually because things are either too good or too bad to write about. Thankfully, lately they’ve been too good (and busy). We’ve had a happy summer so far.

Sharing his Father’s Day breakfast

IMG_1114

For our 12th anniversary in June, the kids (with a little help from Papa) set up a candlelit “restaurant” dinner
IMG_1071

…in our closet, the only private space in the house!

IMG_1078

Some high class wait service at this restaurant.

Roasting marshmallows for Pentecost (see the sunflower forest in the background?)

IMG_1092

William’s version of Van Gogh’s masterpiece

IMG_1094

This year’s black bean harvest, which I completely scorched on the stovetop that evening.

IMG_1133

Lots of fishing this summer!

IMG_1141

An 11th birthday

IMG_1159 IMG_1168

William drove the ATV for the first time on his birthday (Louis is just posing here 🙂 ).

IMG_1203

Blueberry picking

IMG_1121

Beach days

IMG_1209

Our dog found this little (lifeless) guy.  I don’t know what type of shark it is, but to us it actually looked exactly like a toy great white.

IMG_1207

IMG_1213

Fishing for crabs by moonlight

IMG_1214

He didn’t catch any that night, but the boys did on an all-boys camping trip a few weeks earlier. And roasted them!

IMG_1217

At home we’ve been reading lots of library books, learning to play chess,

IMG_1144[1]

planning for next school year, and spending our afternoons at the pool.  When I was growing up in Houston, I used to hate the summer heat.  Now, while I still don’t want to hang around in the sunny backyard in the middle of the day, I am learning to appreciate the good, hot, straightforwardness of Houston summers.  Especially since I can’t stand swimming in cold water!

IMG_1104

IMG_1109

2 thoughts on “Sweet Summer

  1. Aww…so sweet that the kids set up that table for you. Looks like a summer packed full! And I understand what you mean about the heat of the day…But I am on the other end of that: I used to think summer was my favorite season and now I can’t seem to stand the heat! Getting old or something… 🙂

Comments are closed.