Our Advent Announcement & a Liebster Award

Standard

Our family has a very happy Advent announcement…

IMG_1880

We are expecting another little one next June!

First trimester fun has kept me offline for most of the past 6 weeks, and I never got around to answering my friend Blair‘s Liebster Award questions.

1. What are you reading now?

I’m just starting North and South, by Victorian author Elizabeth Gaskell. I am supposed to lead a discussion on it for my book club next month, so I need to get cracking.

2. What are you most looking forward to during the upcoming holidays?

Nathaniel being home for 2 1/2 weeks!

And, I have my own little countdown going to Christmas, because that’s when the second trimester is set to arrive. Dare I hope for a return to a little more normalcy?

3. What’s your favorite spot in your home?

The kids’ bathroom, in theory, because I love how it’s decorated.

IMG_1889

In reality it’s usually messy and I try never to go in there unless I have to clean it. Day-to-day I like to hide in my little closet “study.” Especially with this new-to-me writing desk!

IMG_1893

4. What’s your favorite Halloween candy?

This question shows how long it’s been since I’ve been on this blog! I felt too sick around Halloween to swipe any of the kids’ candy, but I love these little chocolate peppermint cups I got for their St. Nicholas stockings tomorrow.

Also, this delicious holiday tea I’m sipping right now…

Candy Cane Lane

5. What was your favorite song at your wedding?

Our recessional hymn–Love Divine, All Loves Excelling

6. Which of your children had the most creative Halloween costume this year?

Ben, who came up with his costume completely on his own this year. He made his own magician’s hat out of a birthday party hat from many birthdays ago.

7. Who is currently your favorite saint?

St. Therese of Lisieux, always. Especially during times I can’t do much, such as a first trimester…can’t pray well, can’t focus at Mass, can’t even get out of the bed sometimes…St. Therese reminds me that the best way to be close to Jesus is to not to try to be a spiritual superstar, but just to be his little child.

8. What was a special homeschooling moment you had recently?

A homeschooling friend of mine with a reluctant reader recommended I have Louis listen to audiobooks daily while following along in a printed book. We listen to lots of audiobooks in the car and read aloud to the kids, but this will be working on a different skill. He’s been doing it all week, and although he’s complained every day when it’s time to start, he always gets swept up in the story and goes over his allotted 45 minutes. 🙂

9. Do you have a pet?

At Marie’s last AHG meeting the girls had to each say something interesting about themselves, and Marie said, “I have 15 pets!” Besides our permanent pets–2 cats and a dog, she was counting all the lizards, toads, skinks, and salamanders she was keeping in various containers in the backyard at the time. So, the number varies from day to day but now also includes about a dozen goldfish and a few perch in an outdoor pond.

10. Do you have a favorite TV/Netflix series right now?

No, I haven’t found a new show to take the place of Downton Abbey, which I gave up on after the violent start to this past season. I just couldn’t take the drama anymore.

Now I am supposed to nominate more people to answer these questions, but I think the Liebster Award has run its course, and I’m going to let it stop here.

Happy St. Nicholas Day tomorrow!!

IMG_1888

4 thoughts on “Our Advent Announcement & a Liebster Award

Comments are closed.