WWRW: April Reads

Standard

Ben and Louis have been devouring Magic Tree House books. They both read through almost one a day.

Blizzard of the Blue Moon

Marie is constantly perusing her stack of reptile and amphibian field guides.

The three of them still read aloud to me every day from some book that is at an easier level than whatever they are trying to read on their own.

Louis just finished reading aloud Wagon Wheels, a true story about three boys ages 12, 8, and 3 whose widowed father leaves them to fend for themselves in a dugout while he goes farther west to build a new home for them. Then the boys travel alone across the prairie for a month once he sends word that he’s ready for them.

Wagon Wheels

This book could offer some perspective on the insane stories in the news lately about CPS picking up kids left to play alone at the park for a few hours.

William has been reading Holes, by Louis Sachar, which he’s not been very excited about.

I remember people in college telling me it was one of the best children’s books ever, but I’ve been reading it too and it’s not that amazing. I switched William to the audio version, and he’s liking it better.

He’s also started Number the Stars, about the Danish resistance in World War II.

Number the Stars

N. and the kids finished Pinocchio and just started on another WWII novel The Winged Watchman, which looks promising.

As for myself, I’ve been reading

Mr. Blue

I’d never heard of this little 1928 classic before my book club read it, but it’s wonderful. J. Blue is, it would seem, a Catholic version of Jay Gatsby, a carefree eccentric with a singular mission in life: to proclaim the glory of God. There are many parallels with Gatsby’s life and end, and I wish I’d had this book around to read after I first read Gatsby, which I have always found horribly bleak.

The author, Myles Connolly, went on to become a Hollywood screenwriter and great friend of Frank Capra, who credited Connolly with inspiring him to make his most memorable films.

Also the matchless Flannery

A good man is hard to find, and other stories.

I want to read straight through all her works, but I have to take it slow–I usually need some recovery time between one violent end after another.

Linking up with Housewifespice and all the good books!

3d2a9-wwrwbutton

One thought on “WWRW: April Reads

Comments are closed.